Human Trafficking

Hello lovely readers! I hope you all have been well! I am so sorry to have taken that hiatus from my blog, but it was a much needed one. Things have been good and bad lately. For instance, I wrote a short One-Act Play for my school and it is now being performed and I will also be one of the directors! I’m really excited and all my creative ideas were flowing to my play and not my Blog. But for today, I have a very serious topic to talk about.

For Global Awareness Week at my school, the main topic was Human Trafficking. I don’t know if you know much about Human Trafficking but here are a few facts:

  • It is the act of modern-day slavery (forced labor or sex trafficking)
  • It is the 3rd largest crime industry in the world
  • About 20 to 30 Million people are trafficked
  • Today, there are more slaves than ever in history
  • Human Trafficking affects everyone

Now that you know a little more about Human Trafficking, I wanted to talk about something. Regardless of your age, I really want you to take into consideration what I am talking about.

So after spending a whole week educating myself on this topic, I felt I knew much about it. Surprisingly, at my friend’s church, they were focusing on the same topic. I haven’t spoken to her in a while but she is a very important part of my life even though she is also older than me. All my life, she has been the one to follow the rules, while I was the troublemaker.

So imagine my surprise when I heard that she has been acting out of character. Meaning, she was doing things she was not supposed to. This act that sent her mother into a flurry of worry was that she used an app to meet a guy. A guy that she had never met. This random person who was around her age.

And she went out to meet him.

She is okay now but…I was shocked. I couldn’t believe she had done this, and I was even more worried after spending a whole week learning about Human Trafficking and especially learning its effects on women and girls.  Yes, she can make her own choices. But to me, this one was a reckless one. Anything could have possibly happened. From catfishing to kidnapping, there are so many things that could have gone wrong.

But they didn’t. She’s okay. Yet, just because something doesn’t happen one time doesn’t mean it is never going to happen. Just because it doesn’t happen to you, doesn’t mean it can’t happen to someone else.

I am apart of the generation with technology, and I have learned that it is both good and bad. Know the risks. Educate yourself. Think before you act. Avoid situations where you don’t feel comfortable. While the world is a beautiful place, it has dangers in it that we cannot ignore. I hope you all have learned something from this and if you want to learn more ways to help yourself, others and victims of Human Trafficking, just research! I also highly recommend watching the documentary on Human Trafficking called Half the Sky, I will include the link below.

Don’t forget to like, comment and follow!

-Bielle V.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Link for Half the Sky: https://www.viki.com/videos/1088829v-half-the-sky-half-the-sky-episode-1?locale=en

3 thoughts on “Human Trafficking

  1. Very intense topic. I’d be interested to read some posts of yours that are specific to those headlines about human trafficking you mentioned. Like how it effects everyone. It looks like this is something that people need to be more educated on it to understand how detrimental it is(myself included). Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

