Rave: The Lightning Thief Musical

20170428_214232Hello lovely readers! Hope things have been going well for you! This past week has been SUPER DUPER busy for me, so I couldn’t post as much as I wanted to.

One reason I’ve been busy is that I wrote a play! Yes, you read correctly! I, Bielle, wrote a play! For my school, we had to put on a One-Act play and I really didn’t like any of the choices given, so decided to make my own.

I was also the Director of my play along with my co-director, so we both had a lot of responsibilities. The play went well and won Overall Production and Best Staging! I am so happy and proud of myself and everyone I worked with!

So…back to the post! Speaking of plays, I went with my friend a couple of weeks ago to see the Percy Jackson Musical, The Lightning Thief. And what do I have to say about it? AMAZHANG (inside joke for those PJO Fans!). The actor who played Percy Jackson was so funny and me and my friend literally squealed (yes, squealed) at everything he said.

Even though it was off-Broadway, the play was still so amazing to watch. The songs were witty and heartfelt and I was so glad they stuck to the events of the books instead of completely going off-track (*cough* the movies). One of my favorites parts was when Percy changed his pen into the sword with a quick movement because it was like a “OMG, this is real!” moment.

My friend and I wore our Camp Half-Blood shirts (We’re Fangirls), but we were kind of nervous we would be the only ones. Wrong! When we sat down, we saw a bunch of people wearing the bright orange T-shirts! I was very proud of my Fandom in that moment.

Seeing the Original Trio of Percy, Annabeth and Grover together was awesome and it was hands-down so much better than the movie. After, we got to see the cast and take pictures with them and have them sign our playbill. I lost mine so my friend has all the signatures. Here’s the picture below:

20170428_222655

The musical was an amazing and fun experience and I’m so sad it was for a limited time only. Seeing it only fueled my love for the books, and I am determined to finish the Trials of Apollo series. I love all of the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus books and I HIGHLY recommend them. Not only are they absolutely hilarious and relatable, but they teach you a lot about Greek and Roman mythology.

Question of the Day: Have you ever read a Percy Jackson book? Let me know in the comments!

And that’s my post for today, I hope you enjoyed it! Don’t forget to comment, like and follow! Stay tuned for more updates!

Bielle ❣

Leave a Reply

