Rant: Wuthering Heights

Hello lovely readers! How has life been? How was the 4th of the July? My summer days have been full of sleeping, reading, writing and an X-Men movie marathon. So basically, slightly uneventful. I am super excited to be doing this post because it took me a long time to finish this book, and I really wanted to talk about it with you.

Over the past few weeks, I have been reading Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë. The two-volume novel is considered a classic, and it has become my recent goal to read a few classic books. I had first heard of the Brontë sisters when I read the book Girl with a pen, Charlotte Brontë, by Elisabeth Kyle. The Girl with a pen is surprise, surprise…a biography about Charlotte Brontë! I really enjoyed the biography (recommend it!) and I was very interested by the story of the young female sister/authors who had written books under male names.

Wuthering Heights was…difficult. As soon as I came across the (very helpful) genealogical table, I was confused. In the picture below you can clearly see lines connecting that nowadays would normally not be connected. It took me a few times to actually understand. Cousins married cousins…married cousins. Alright. Now, I know that in the time period the novel takes place, marrying your cousin wasn’t too far out there. For me, I just wasn’t expecting that.

Moving on, the language. For me, the language was a bit hard to put together, so I was reading slower than I normally do, which kind of bothered me but was to be expected. One character, Joseph, spoke in a type of slang and it wasn’t exactly clear as to what he was saying. Alhough there were some parts where I loved the writing and vivid description so much that I had to put a bookmark. For example:

“The flash of her eyes had been succeeded by a dreamy and melancholy softness: they no longer gave the impression of looking at the objects around her; they appeared always to gaze beyond, and far beyond – you would have said out of this world – “

This is a direct quote from the book Wuthering Heights and I really felt connected to it. The book seems to have two narrators, Lockwood who is the new tenant of Thrushcross Grange and Mrs. Nelly Dean, a maid. Mrs. Dean shows her POV of the beginning of Catherine and Heathcliff’s love story and continues on to the love story between their respective children, Catherine and Linton. Lockwood is kind of like the narrator of the future as he is just coming to Wuthering Heights after all the events Mrs. Dean narrates have happened. This particular quote above is when Mrs. Dean is describing how the older Catherine looked and I feel that’s how I look whenever I daydream. Whenever I daydream, I feel as if I am looking out of this world and into my own.

I have to say but I really liked Mrs. Dean. Even though she was a quiet character, the words put you directly into her body as she was watching these events play out. Although, I would have really liked to have heard the thoughts of other characters too, like Heathcliff. Towards the end, Mrs. Dean was a total fangirl who wanted her OTP of young Catherine and Hareton to happen.

While I liked the book, I felt that because of the POV, I couldn’t really feel the love between characters. Catherine and Heathcliff had grown up together, but she still chose Edgar Linton. My favorite relationship was between Catherine and Edgar’s daughter Catherine and her mother’s brother’s son, Hareton. Their love had grown over time and it seemed like both partners were truly happier. In the earlier love affairs, I always felt like there was bad tension.

Overall, I would recommend this book but it wasn’t my favorite. There were parts that were interesting but I did feel fully captivated all the way through.  It was funny though because while reading this book, I wrote a short poem about it and you can find it here.


Hope you enjoyed this post and stay tuned for more! Have you read Wuthering Heights? Have you read any other classic novels? Let me know below! 

Bielle ❣

*Photos are mine*

Leave a Reply

